My Marketing Education

I don’t have a BA or Masters in Marketing. I DO have a solid marketing education that is up-to-date, experienced, deep, and constantly learning new techniques / tricks. Wrap that in a Certificate in Judgement from Painful Life Experiences U, and you have me.

Marketing is my professional passion, that’s why it’s so easy for me to get excited about digesting new concepts and books, and also discerning what is good to keep and what to leave behind.

There are a LOT of things to leave behind. Especially traditional methods, mailers, etc.  These days, to not be current is a greater sin than to not be correct. So here is what I am doing right now to brush up my marketing skills:

Books in the last month (Good for bigger, in-depth concepts):

  • How to write copy that sells (Ray Edwards)
  • Fascinate (Sally Hogshead)
  • Secrets of Closing the Sale (Zig Ziglar)
  • Essentialism (Greg McKeown)

Blogs:

  • Seth’s blog (seth godin)
  • The CoSchedule Blog (really nice, in-depth howtos)
  • Jay Baer’s Convince and Convert
  • Hubspot (for Automation)
  • Moz blog (SEO)
  • Tableau

Tools I’m learning / mastering:

  • Edgar
  • Google Analytics (there is always more to learn)
  • MediaVisor
  • Atlas
  • DART
  • Salesforce

Courses:

  • Coursera / University of Illinois’ IMBA program (free and pretty neat; a good place to start)

Podcasts:

  • Ray Edwards (the most hilarious and abstract and random podcast you will find
  • Michael Hyatt (productivity / mentorship)
  • I love marketing
  • Anything from Convince and Convert

I’m building and shaping this curriculum each day, but here is where I am at today.

Leave a Reply

